top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMackenzie Little

Maker's North Collective: Meet The Makers

Saint Oliver's was created to bring a little bit of everything to the table, something that everyone will enjoy! Growing up with myself and my siblings having dietary restrictions and dietary choses including vegetarian, gluten and nut free, it was rare to find a meal that everyone could enjoy without a million substitutions.

I believe my interest in charcuterie/graze boards stemmed from there, from being able to please everyone with one elegant spread. Later on it became my go-to when throwing or attending dinner parties and has stuck ever since! Our goal is to be a simple option that can make everyone's tummy’s happy as well as curating a spread that is *almost* too good to eat!


What advice would you give to a maker just starting out?

You can't please everyone! You have a business and that means that your business has an audience, and not everyone will fit into that audience- and that's okay! Don't feel the need to go out of your way completely or bend over backwards for someone who might simply just not fit in the audience you're looking for. It's hard, especially at first, to turn people away. But you need to make sure you always know your worth! It's okay if you can't please everyone, you will find your people.


What inspires you/where do you find inspiration?

Everywhere and anywhere! Always be open to finding inspiration and it will come. Since I'm working with food, I love to use seasonal produce and flavours to incorporate into anything I'm making. Produce only being available (or when they're at their best) gives you an easy choice in what to work with. Try new things, trust your gut and get lots of opinions.


What is your dream project?

Other than owning my own restaurant & cafe one day... My dream project would be to team up with an event planner / event planning company to offer my services of graze & catering as an option for all their events! I believe that working with a business as such would open up opportunities for me, as well as being beneficial to the organizer. I'm all about working alongside other local and small businesses as well as helping each other out whenever possible!!


Comments


bottom of page